Jump to content

[TOPIC: topicViewTemplate]
[GLOBAL: userSmallPhoto]
Photo

Catalina problems - Unsupported iOS SDK Mismatch
Started by runewinse Oct 11 2019 03:18 PM

16 replies to this topic
[TOPIC CONTROLS]
[/TOPIC CONTROLS]
[modOptionsDropdown]
[/modOptionsDropdown]
[reputationFilter]
[TOPIC: post.html]
#1

runewinse

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
runewinse
  • Contributor

  • 497 posts
  • Corona SDK

After buying a new, used Mac and installing Catalina, I have problems building my app. There seems to be some version problems:

 

Attached File  Skjermbilde 2019-10-12 kl. 01.08.23.png   158.6KB   1 downloads

 

Attached File  Skjermbilde 2019-10-12 kl. 01.12.31.png   120.91KB   1 downloads

 

Corona Simulator 2019.3535

XCode Version 11.1 (11A1027)

macOS Catalina Version 10.15

 

What can I do to make this work?

 

Sorry. I know very little about MacOS. I only use the Mac to be able to create iOS versions of my app...



[TOPIC: post.html]
#2

Rob Miracle

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Rob Miracle
  • Moderator

  • 26,207 posts
  • Enterprise

Pick up the latest daily build (2019.3538) and make sure you have Xcode 11.1 installed and run at least once (you probably do since it references SDK 13.1.)

 

Rob



[TOPIC: post.html]
#3

Rob Miracle

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Rob Miracle
  • Moderator

  • 26,207 posts
  • Enterprise

BTW this isn't a Catalina issue. It's the fact that when Apple pushes out a new iOS update, they push a new Xcode update and they keep them in version number sync (for the most part), so iOS 13.1 needs Xcode 11.1. When iOS 13.2 comes out, you will need Xcode 11.2 and so on. 

 

Corona's build servers are also running Xcode and we have to actually update them whenever Apple comes out with a new Xcode. This usually takes a few days for us to make the update. Then we have to tweak the options in the build dialog to match (as some people may not have updated their Xcode yet and still want to build with it.

 

This is part of the normal update cycle.

 

Now some times, a new version of macOS comes out and Corona has a check in it to make sure you're on a supported version of macOS and we check to make sure the OS number isn't too large, so while Corona may run really well today on macOS 10.15 (Catalina), when Apple updates it to 10.15.1, we likely will have a period where we popup a dialog saying Corona isn't compatible. It is compatible and you just have to ignore the message until we bump the version number in the code. 

 

Rob



[TOPIC: post.html]
#4

greg886

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
greg886
  • Contributor

  • 916 posts
  • Corona SDK

Hi Rob - have you got Corona SDK working with Catalina ok yourself?   (just checking before I jump in)



[TOPIC: post.html]
#5

runewinse

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
runewinse
  • Contributor

  • 497 posts
  • Corona SDK

Thanks! The version issue is now solved, but I cannot find the Application Loader anymore. It seems to have been removed from the Developer Tool menu in XCode 11.1.

 

The corona dialogue that pops up looks like this:

 

Attached File  Skjermbilde 2019-10-12 kl. 10.46.05.png   163.04KB   1 downloads

 

It seems like the Application Loader text is a clickable link that explains something, but nothing happens when I click on it.



[TOPIC: post.html]
#6

Rob Miracle

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Rob Miracle
  • Moderator

  • 26,207 posts
  • Enterprise

Yes, Apple removed Application Loader starting with Xcode 11. Application loader features were built directly into Xcode. People using Xcode can send their apps to the app store directly from Xcode. From Apple's perspective, there isn't a need to support Application Loader any longer. They don't care about third-party engines. I believe both UE4 and Unity produce Xcode projects and you finish the build there so they are not impacted by this.

 

There is two working solutions. Find a download of Xcode 10 and copy the Application Loader.app out of it to some place where you can load it. Or learn how to use their various command line tools. This takes some setup as you will have to get an API key from Apple, setup some encryption stuff (not hard) and then run a command from the command line to send the app. There are existing forum threads that cover what you need to do. Please search the forums or use Google to search on the topic.

 

I'm not sure what our plans are going forward. It would make sense to use the command line tool under the hood, but we don't want to get involved in any password saving/security token getting items.

 

It stinks, but for now, the easiest thing is to find the legacy downloads for Apple and grab application builder out of the last 10.3. It's know to work for now.

 

Rob



[TOPIC: post.html]
#7

Rob Miracle

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Rob Miracle
  • Moderator

  • 26,207 posts
  • Enterprise

@greg886, please see: https://forums.coronalabs.com/topic/76392-macos-catalina-corona-simulator-does-not-work-help/#entry402980

 

Rob


  • greg886 likes this

[TOPIC: post.html]
#8

runewinse

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
runewinse
  • Contributor

  • 497 posts
  • Corona SDK

Yes, Apple removed Application Loader starting with Xcode 11. Application loader features were built directly into Xcode. People using Xcode can send their apps to the app store directly from Xcode. From Apple's perspective, there isn't a need to support Application Loader any longer. They don't care about third-party engines. I believe both UE4 and Unity produce Xcode projects and you finish the build there so they are not impacted by this.

 

There is two working solutions. Find a download of Xcode 10 and copy the Application Loader.app out of it to some place where you can load it. Or learn how to use their various command line tools. This takes some setup as you will have to get an API key from Apple, setup some encryption stuff (not hard) and then run a command from the command line to send the app. There are existing forum threads that cover what you need to do. Please search the forums or use Google to search on the topic.

 

I'm not sure what our plans are going forward. It would make sense to use the command line tool under the hood, but we don't want to get involved in any password saving/security token getting items.

 

It stinks, but for now, the easiest thing is to find the legacy downloads for Apple and grab application builder out of the last 10.3. It's know to work for now.

 

Rob

 

Ok, thanks. Any idea where I can safely download XCode 10.3? I´m not a fan of installing random software from the net.



[TOPIC: post.html]
#9

bamazy

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
bamazy
  • Enthusiast

  • 87 posts
  • Corona SDK

@runewinse, you can find it here: https://developer.apple.com/download/more/

 

Direct link: https://download.developer.apple.com/Developer_Tools/Xcode_10.3/Xcode_10.3.xip


  • runewinse likes this

[TOPIC: post.html]
#10

runewinse

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
runewinse
  • Contributor

  • 497 posts
  • Corona SDK

 

Thanks a lot! I'll try to see if I can extract the Application Loader from somewhere in the archive.



[TOPIC: post.html]
#11

runewinse

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
runewinse
  • Contributor

  • 497 posts
  • Corona SDK

 

Ok, I have some additional questions. Please forgive me for being so green with the whole macOS thing.

 

First, when I unpack the .xip file it seems to result in one program file called XCode:

 

Attached File  Skjermbilde 2019-10-14 kl. 22.06.27.png   61.85KB   0 downloads

(my download folder)

 

Is this right? I was under the impression that one could extract the Application Loader separatedly? As it is now, I have a 12GB monster on my 128GB drive just to have access to the Application Loader.

 

Also, when I´m now trying to build a Corona app, I´m getting the "UNSUPPORTED iOS SDK Mismatch" dialogue again, probably because I´ve somehow managed to downgrade XCode???

 

I have no idea what I´m doing with my Mac. A thousand apologies...



[TOPIC: post.html]
#12

Rob Miracle

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Rob Miracle
  • Moderator

  • 26,207 posts
  • Enterprise

You can Right-Click (if you have a 2 or 3 button mouse), or CMD-Click with the touch pad or a single button mouse on Xcode, and choose "Show Package Contents". That will open the app and you can see the contents in it. The application is actually a folder and in this case it's Xcode.app. Finder hides the .app and knows you want to run the program when you click on it. But by showing the package contents, you can then drill in and see more items.

 

I don't have Xcode 10.3 installed so I can't find you the exact path for it.

 

You can have multiple Xcode's installed. You can open up the Terminal app, and run the command:

xcode-select --print-path 

And it will tell you which Xcode it's using.  Xcode 11.1 should be in 

/Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer

 

If it's pointing to your downloads folder, then you want to do:

xcode-select /Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer

to point it back to the Installed version. If it's pointing the the right place, actually run Xcode out of the Applications folder and click on the Xcode menu->About Xcode and see what version it says.

 

From there we need to make sure you're using a version of Corona that matches the Xcode version.



[TOPIC: post.html]
#13

runewinse

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
runewinse
  • Contributor

  • 497 posts
  • Corona SDK

Thanks Rob!

 

Here´s what I´ve done so far:

 

I used "Show package contents" and found the Application Loader and moved it to Programs.

 

Then sucessfully opened Application Loader and logged in (I had to generate a new App specific password).

 

Then I deleted both the unpacked and packed XCode 10.3.

 

If I now open XCode, the about dialogue shows 11.1.

 

The only thing that now does not work is that I still get the good old "Unsupported iOS SDK mismatch" dialogue.



[TOPIC: post.html]
#14

Rob Miracle

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Rob Miracle
  • Moderator

  • 26,207 posts
  • Enterprise

What version of Corona are you using?

 

What does running xcode-select --print from a terminal window say?

 

Can you provide a screenshot of the build dialog showing the SDK mismatch?

 

Rob



[TOPIC: post.html]
#15

runewinse

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
runewinse
  • Contributor

  • 497 posts
  • Corona SDK

What version of Corona are you using?

 

What does running xcode-select --print from a terminal window say?

 

Can you provide a screenshot of the build dialog showing the SDK mismatch?

 

Rob

 

Corona version:

 

2019.3535 (2019.10.6)

 

 

xcode-select --print-path returns:

 

/Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer

 

Attached File  Skjermbilde 2019-10-16 kl. 19.04.25.png   22.7KB   0 downloads

 

 

Screen dump of the error message:

 

Attached File  Skjermbilde 2019-10-16 kl. 19.01.03.png   160.92KB   0 downloads



[TOPIC: post.html]
#16

runewinse

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
runewinse
  • Contributor

  • 497 posts
  • Corona SDK

Corona version:

 

2019.3535 (2019.10.6)

 

ARGH! And there was the problem... Both versions of Corona was in the Dock. I didn´t notice and started the old one...



[TOPIC: post.html]
#17

Rob Miracle

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Rob Miracle
  • Moderator

  • 26,207 posts
  • Enterprise

Glad you solved it.

 

Rob




[topic_controls]
[/topic_controls]