Jump to content

[TOPIC: topicViewTemplate]
[GLOBAL: userSmallPhoto]
Photo

FAN Plugin SDK too old
Started by SGS Jul 18 2019 03:47 AM

32 replies to this topic
[TOPIC CONTROLS]
Page 1 of 2 1 2
[/TOPIC CONTROLS]
[modOptionsDropdown]
[/modOptionsDropdown]
[reputationFilter]
[TOPIC: post.html]
#1

SGS

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
SGS
  • Corona Geek

  • 2,120 posts
  • Corona SDK

Hi guys

 

I'm trying to add FAN to my games - following a phone call from them wanting my business.

Two questions,

 

1. Why is reward not supported  (this is the only ad type I use) ? 

 

2. Why doesn't it even work?  Here is the log

Corona  : table: 0xbdcfed60 {
Corona  :   [type] => "interstitial"
Corona  :   [isError] => true
Corona  :   [phase] => "failed"
Corona  :   [provider] => "fbAudienceNetwork"
Corona  :   [name] => "adsRequest"
Corona  :   [response] => "Error Code: 1203. Reason: The SDK version in the ad request is no longer supported for new apps. Please upgrade to one of the latest versions of the SDK"
Corona  : }

Is this something that can be fixed?  Otherwise there is no point in buying the plugin!

 

Thanks

 

 



[TOPIC: post.html]
#2

sahil19.sindh

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
sahil19.sindh
  • Contributor

  • 155 posts
  • Corona SDK

Hello Corona team, Please help us on this issue. I have also purchased this and if this does not work then it will be an issue for us.



[TOPIC: post.html]
#3

Rob Miracle

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Rob Miracle
  • Moderator

  • 26,393 posts
  • Enterprise

I'm investigating.



[TOPIC: post.html]
#4

sahil19.sindh

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
sahil19.sindh
  • Contributor

  • 155 posts
  • Corona SDK

Hello Rob, 

 

Can you please confirm which FB sdk Version Corona latest is using?

 

I need to integrate this purchased plugin in few games but not sure which version it is using and if the problem mentioned above is resolved or not.



[TOPIC: post.html]
#5

Rob Miracle

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Rob Miracle
  • Moderator

  • 26,393 posts
  • Enterprise

Looking at the commit messages, it says that on 7/20/2019, Android was updated to 5+ and iOS to 532. I'm not sure what that means. But the plugin has been updated several times since. There was another SDK update for iOS on 8/1/2019, but I can't tell the version number, so it's probably something newer.

 

Rob



[TOPIC: post.html]
#6

sahil19.sindh

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
sahil19.sindh
  • Contributor

  • 155 posts
  • Corona SDK

Hello Everyone, May be i am wrong and don't know about this but is there an way that we can check the version of sdk used in plugin.

eg, How i can check which version of Admob or fb is used in the latest plugins of the corona.

 

Thank in advance for any help provided



[TOPIC: post.html]
#7

Rob Miracle

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Rob Miracle
  • Moderator

  • 26,393 posts
  • Enterprise

There is no consistent way to automatically determine this. Some SDK's might provide a version number. But at least one, does provide this, but it's usually wrong or missing about the only thing I can do is look at the repos and hope Engineering's commit messages includes the SDK information.

 

Admob seems to be 17.12.2 from 6/28

FAN free was updated on 8/1, but I can't determine the version #'s.

FAN paid seems to be a bit older but seems to be 5+.

 

Rob



[TOPIC: post.html]
#8

sahil19.sindh

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
sahil19.sindh
  • Contributor

  • 155 posts
  • Corona SDK

Thank you so much Rob, Main concern was FB, It needs to be 5.4 or higher actually before 3.2020. We have time for this, i will check on this near year end or january to make sure Corona team has updated this for all of us.



[TOPIC: post.html]
#9

sahil19.sindh

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
sahil19.sindh
  • Contributor

  • 155 posts
  • Corona SDK

Hello Rob, Something very urgent for our account. This is effecting us badly. Fb has stopped all Interstitials on all of our apps from last 1 week. I tried changing Ad Id's and push update but still no Ad is showing. Today we got an alert in Fb Console that we are using very old version 5.1 and so this is effecting Ad serving and Fill Rate. They asked to use recommended version 5.6. Please suggest us something on this. Do you hear any news on this from anyone else? We have purchased FB and many more plugins from marketplace. Now we are feeling like bound and struggling badly. Please help us in this matter.

[TOPIC: post.html]
#10

Rob Miracle

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Rob Miracle
  • Moderator

  • 26,393 posts
  • Enterprise

I've asked Engineering to look into it.

 

Rob



[TOPIC: post.html]
#11

sahil19.sindh

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
sahil19.sindh
  • Contributor

  • 155 posts
  • Corona SDK

Ok, thank you Rob
I will keep checking this thread.

[TOPIC: post.html]
#12

sahil19.sindh

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
sahil19.sindh
  • Contributor

  • 155 posts
  • Corona SDK

Hello Rob,

Here is a message my business partner received after asking the FAN team in a private group he is apart of.
I will attach the snapshot here.
If you guys could please update the SDK to an acceptable version that would be great.
This is killing us now. Last 10 days revenue dropped almost 90% now on these apps.

Attached Files


  • justin899 likes this

[TOPIC: post.html]
#13

Rob Miracle

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Rob Miracle
  • Moderator

  • 26,393 posts
  • Enterprise

I pinged Engineering.

 

Rob



[TOPIC: post.html]
#14

sahil19.sindh

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
sahil19.sindh
  • Contributor

  • 155 posts
  • Corona SDK

Rob, any message from the Engineering team. Please update us when you get any response otherwise i need to remove fb plugin from all games and publish again.



[TOPIC: post.html]
#15

vlads

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
vlads
  • Contributor

  • 972 posts
  • Corona Staff

Hello! we're working on the FAN plugin update. Facebook changed their SDK and now it integrates closely with FAN, using shared pieces, and making conflicts with Corona core and other plugins. This update is harder than it seems.



[TOPIC: post.html]
#16

sahil19.sindh

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
sahil19.sindh
  • Contributor

  • 155 posts
  • Corona SDK

Hello Vlads, Thanks for the update.

Sounds like the SDK change at Facebook end is not good for developers and corona core. We can assume but real work will be done at Corona end. I am not trying to push but just want to know if this update is going to take many days or weeks for Corona team then can we simply remove the plugin for now. I dont want to keep this plugin in game as this is hurting us badly now.

[TOPIC: post.html]
#17

vlads

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
vlads
  • Contributor

  • 972 posts
  • Corona Staff

I’m pretty confident we’ll roll out update soon, less than a week.

[TOPIC: post.html]
#18

sahil19.sindh

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
sahil19.sindh
  • Contributor

  • 155 posts
  • Corona SDK

Ok. Thats a great news Vlads. Please drop a message here once its updated. I prefer to wait for a week and push updates rather than removing fb plugin and pushing update.

[TOPIC: post.html]
#19

vlads

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
vlads
  • Contributor

  • 972 posts
  • Corona Staff

Hey guys. FAN plugin, both paid and free, iOS and Android, was updated to 5.6.0, as well as Facebook plugin, was updated to 5.9.0

Also, FAN plugin got rewarded ads in it.

 

I did some testing, everything seems to work fine, I get ads, they show and events are received on Corona's end.



[TOPIC: post.html]
#20

sahil19.sindh

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
sahil19.sindh
  • Contributor

  • 155 posts
  • Corona SDK

That's great Vlads, Thank you so much.

Just one thing, all we need to do is to take new build from corona latest sdk, right?



[TOPIC: post.html]
#21

vlads

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
vlads
  • Contributor

  • 972 posts
  • Corona Staff

Your current version is probably fine.



[TOPIC: post.html]
#22

sahil19.sindh

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
sahil19.sindh
  • Contributor

  • 155 posts
  • Corona SDK

I tried buiding the same app which was working before and now it crashed as soon as it start and says Runtime Error module 'plugin.fbAudienceNetwork.paid' not found. I have added the plugin in build.settings and also did require in main.lua.

Note: This was the same code which was working before but No Fb ad was showing as FB was saying the sdk is too old. I changed nothing but just updated the corona to latest sdk 2019.3556 and took build



[TOPIC: post.html]
#23

vlads

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
vlads
  • Contributor

  • 972 posts
  • Corona Staff

Is it iOS?

[TOPIC: post.html]
#24

vlads

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
vlads
  • Contributor

  • 972 posts
  • Corona Staff

Also, please, share build.settings.



[TOPIC: post.html]
#25

sahil19.sindh

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
sahil19.sindh
  • Contributor

  • 155 posts
  • Corona SDK

here is my build file:

https://pastebin.com/NDkDXfxd

 

this is for Android, i did not test this for ios yet.  It is crashing on my require call in the main.lua.

Below is the crash log:

https://pastebin.com/fYdFVRVh




[topic_controls]
Page 1 of 2 1 2
 
[/topic_controls]