Jump to content

[TOPIC: topicViewTemplate]
[GLOBAL: userSmallPhoto]
Photo

Google Analytics - producing IDFA error
Started by borderleap Feb 23 2016 06:57 AM

65 replies to this topic
google analytics error idfa
[TOPIC CONTROLS]
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
[/TOPIC CONTROLS]
[modOptionsDropdown]
[/modOptionsDropdown]
[reputationFilter]
[TOPIC: post.html]
#1

borderleap

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
borderleap
  • Contributor

  • 400 posts
  • Corona SDK

<Warning>: VERBOSE: GoogleAnalytics 3.15 +[GAITrackerModel initialize] (GAITrackerModel.m:88): idfa class missing, won't collect idfa

I'm getting this in my Xcode console with a game I have the new Google Analytics plugin in.  I've got everything set up right and still am seeing no reporting in Google Analytics...  A couple of pages I saw online said Apple rejects apps with this...

 

Also, it appears that the console is spitting out verbose reporting for each and every Google Analytics call from my app......

 

Thanks,

Nate



[TOPIC: post.html]
#2

Falcon777

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Falcon777
  • Contributor

  • 407 posts
  • Corona SDK

<Warning>: VERBOSE: GoogleAnalytics 3.15 +[GAITrackerModel initialize] (GAITrackerModel.m:88): idfa class missing, won't collect idfa

I'm getting this in my Xcode console with a game I have the new Google Analytics plugin in.  I've got everything set up right and still am seeing no reporting in Google Analytics...  A couple of pages I saw online said Apple rejects apps with this...

 

Also, it appears that the console is spitting out verbose reporting for each and every Google Analytics call from my app......

 

Thanks,

Nate

 

 

Did you manage to solve this issue?  I am getting the same warning.  I am also not seeing any reporting yet.



[TOPIC: post.html]
#3

Falcon777

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Falcon777
  • Contributor

  • 407 posts
  • Corona SDK

If anyone has any solution, kindly share it here.  I would need to get this resolved before submitting to the App Store.  Thanks in advance.



[TOPIC: post.html]
#4

Rob Miracle

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Rob Miracle
  • Moderator

  • 25,913 posts
  • Enterprise

I've asked about this.

 

Rob



[TOPIC: post.html]
#5

Falcon777

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Falcon777
  • Contributor

  • 407 posts
  • Corona SDK

I've asked about this.

 

Rob

 

Thanks Rob for looking into this matter.  



[TOPIC: post.html]
#6

agramonte

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
agramonte
  • Corona Geek

  • 1,174 posts
  • Corona SDK

Interesting. Is the app in the store or just running on your device. I have implemented Google Analytics for iOS and although it isn't published yet, I am seeing data in my Analytics console. 

 

What version of iOS is it running on? 

I am testing on a iOS 9.2 /iPhone 6. I'll try to grab my other devices and see what shows up.

 

Adrian



[TOPIC: post.html]
#7

Falcon777

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Falcon777
  • Contributor

  • 407 posts
  • Corona SDK

Interesting. Is the app in the store or just running on your device. I have implemented Google Analytics for iOS and although it isn't published yet, I am seeing data in my Analytics console. 

 

What version of iOS is it running on? 

I am testing on a iOS 9.2 /iPhone 6. I'll try to grab my other devices and see what shows up.

 

Adrian

 

Running on my device. I tried to add this to an existing app I have in the app store.  Tested on iPhone 6+ running iOS 9.3.1.  I am using Daily build version 2016.2861.

 

Did you see similar warning appearing on your Xcode console?

 

Just to add, Android version is working perfectly fine.



[TOPIC: post.html]
#8

agramonte

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
agramonte
  • Corona Geek

  • 1,174 posts
  • Corona SDK

Just tested on my phone. And yes I see the warning (so it might get rejected):

 

Apr 12 20:13:16 Adrians-iPhone bletchley[2096] <Warning>: VERBOSE: GoogleAnalytics 3.15 +[GAITrackerModel initialize] (GAITrackerModel.m:88): idfa class missing, won't collect idfa

 

But I still see the data in the console. Hopefully it won't get rejected. I really want to track my advertising through Google.



[TOPIC: post.html]
#9

Falcon777

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Falcon777
  • Contributor

  • 407 posts
  • Corona SDK

Just tested on my phone. And yes I see the warning (so it might get rejected):

 

Apr 12 20:13:16 Adrians-iPhone bletchley[2096] <Warning>: VERBOSE: GoogleAnalytics 3.15 +[GAITrackerModel initialize] (GAITrackerModel.m:88): idfa class missing, won't collect idfa

 

But I still see the data in the console. Hopefully it won't get rejected. I really want to track my advertising through Google.

 

Same here.  Hope this issue can be fixed soon.  



[TOPIC: post.html]
#10

Rob Miracle

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Rob Miracle
  • Moderator

  • 25,913 posts
  • Enterprise

Can I get one of you to file a bug report please? It needs to be a minimal project that causes this error to show up. You need to at a minimum have a main.lua, config.lua and build.settings file and any other assets needed to let us build and run it on a device.  Put all of that in a .zip file and use the Report a Bug link above.  When typing in the description of the bug, please post a link to this forum thread. Upon completion, you will get an email confirming the submission. There will be a CaseID# in the subject. Please post that back here as a reference.

 

Once this is done I can get it to the engineers who built the plugin.

 

Thanks

Rob



[TOPIC: post.html]
#11

agramonte

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
agramonte
  • Corona Geek

  • 1,174 posts
  • Corona SDK

If nobody has done it yet, I'll try to get it to you tonight. That being said, I am fairly sure that Google Analytics only uses the IDFA for linking with the iTunes store (which is currently in beta). From the few days of me running Google Analytics on my iOS devices, I don't see any information missing.



[TOPIC: post.html]
#12

Falcon777

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Falcon777
  • Contributor

  • 407 posts
  • Corona SDK

There seems to be an issue with the build server now.  Kept getting the following errors.

 

iOS build failed (12)

ERROR: Build Failed: There was a problem linking the app.
 
Please refer to this thread I created.
 


[TOPIC: post.html]
#13

Falcon777

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Falcon777
  • Contributor

  • 407 posts
  • Corona SDK

Can I get one of you to file a bug report please? It needs to be a minimal project that causes this error to show up. You need to at a minimum have a main.lua, config.lua and build.settings file and any other assets needed to let us build and run it on a device.  Put all of that in a .zip file and use the Report a Bug link above.  When typing in the description of the bug, please post a link to this forum thread. Upon completion, you will get an email confirming the submission. There will be a CaseID# in the subject. Please post that back here as a reference.

 

Once this is done I can get it to the engineers who built the plugin.

 

Thanks

Rob

 

I have submitted a bug report but did not receive any case number in my email.  Is this supposed to be immediate?



[TOPIC: post.html]
#14

Rob Miracle

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Rob Miracle
  • Moderator

  • 25,913 posts
  • Enterprise

Yes, the email should be withing about 5 minutes. This is probably an indication that the bug didn't get submitted. I checked using your email and didn't find any open bugs. Can you try again?

 

Rob



[TOPIC: post.html]
#15

Falcon777

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Falcon777
  • Contributor

  • 407 posts
  • Corona SDK

Yes, the email should be withing about 5 minutes. This is probably an indication that the bug didn't get submitted. I checked using your email and didn't find any open bugs. Can you try again?

 

Rob

 

I have just re-submitted but still did not receive any email.



[TOPIC: post.html]
#16

Rob Miracle

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Rob Miracle
  • Moderator

  • 25,913 posts
  • Enterprise

Can you upload the .zip file somewhere that I can grab it and post your description here and I'll submit it.

 

Thanks

Rob



[TOPIC: post.html]
#17

Falcon777

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Falcon777
  • Contributor

  • 407 posts
  • Corona SDK

In any case, the project file is very simple.  Just simply initialise the google analytics plugin and you will see the warning appearing on the Xcode console.

 

Please see attached.

 

 

Description:

 

Xcode console showing the following error when initialising the Google Analytics plugin.  Works fine on Android.


"VERBOSE: GoogleAnalytics 3.15 +[GAITrackerModel initialize] (GAITrackerModel.m:88): idfa class missing, won't collect idea"
 

 

 

 

Attached Files



[TOPIC: post.html]
#18

Falcon777

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Falcon777
  • Contributor

  • 407 posts
  • Corona SDK

Can you upload the .zip file somewhere that I can grab it and post your description here and I'll submit it.

 

Thanks

Rob

 

I have attached it in my previous post. Thanks.



[TOPIC: post.html]
#19

Rob Miracle

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Rob Miracle
  • Moderator

  • 25,913 posts
  • Enterprise

Case# 45652



[TOPIC: post.html]
#20

Falcon777

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Falcon777
  • Contributor

  • 407 posts
  • Corona SDK

Case# 45652

 

Thanks. Hope to see this issue fixed soon.



[TOPIC: post.html]
#21

Falcon777

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Falcon777
  • Contributor

  • 407 posts
  • Corona SDK

Just a quick update.  I noticed that some data are being collected initially (even with the warning) but after that it stops updating. 



[TOPIC: post.html]
#22

Falcon777

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Falcon777
  • Contributor

  • 407 posts
  • Corona SDK

Is there any update to this?  Thanks.



[TOPIC: post.html]
#23

Rob Miracle

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Rob Miracle
  • Moderator

  • 25,913 posts
  • Enterprise

You need to give engineering some time. They've had less than 24 hours on this.

 

Rob



[TOPIC: post.html]
#24

Falcon777

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Falcon777
  • Contributor

  • 407 posts
  • Corona SDK

You need to give engineering some time. They've had less than 24 hours on this.

 

Rob

 

Hi Rob..  Noted.  I will wait patiently.  :)



[TOPIC: post.html]
#25

Squadventure Games

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Squadventure Games
  • Contributor

  • 104 posts
  • Corona SDK

Hi,

 

I'm also having this issue with my iOS app not being reported in the GA dashboard. Android is working well.

 

Here's my log file for additional info, hope it helps:

Apr 15 20:48:06 Julios-iPad Mystery of Shadow Hill[1112] <Warning>: VERBOSE: GoogleAnalytics 3.15 +[GAITrackerModel initialize] (GAITrackerModel.m:88): idfa class missing, won't collect idfa
Apr 15 20:48:06 Julios-iPad Mystery of Shadow Hill[1112] <Warning>: Saved game has not changed. Skipping saving file.
Apr 15 20:48:06 Julios-iPad Mystery of Shadow Hill[1112] <Warning>: INFO: GoogleAnalytics 3.15 -[GAIReachabilityChecker reachabilityFlagsChanged:] (GAIReachabilityChecker.m:159): Reachability flags update: 0X000002
Apr 15 20:48:06 Julios-iPad Mystery of Shadow Hill[1112] <Warning>: INFO: GoogleAnalytics 3.15 -[GAIReachabilityChecker reachabilityFlagsChanged:] (GAIReachabilityChecker.m:159): Reachability flags update: 0X000002
Apr 15 20:48:06 Julios-iPad Mystery of Shadow Hill[1112] <Warning>: INFO: GoogleAnalytics 3.15 -[GAIReachabilityChecker reachabilityFlagsChanged:] (GAIReachabilityChecker.m:159): Reachability flags update: 0X000002
Apr 15 20:48:06 Julios-iPad Mystery of Shadow Hill[1112] <Warning>: VERBOSE: GoogleAnalytics 3.15 -[GAIBatchingDispatcher persist:] (GAIBatchingDispatcher.m:517): Saved hit: {
               parameters =     {
                   "&_crc" = 0;
                   "&_s" = 3;
                   "&_u" = ".qrtenK9L";
                   "&_v" = "mi3.1.5";
                   "&a" = 1364566534;
                   "&aid" = "com.squadventure.ShadowHill";
                   "&an" = "Mystery of Shadow Hill";
                   "&av" = "1.1.1713";
                   "&cd" = "scene.cover";
                   "&cid" = "7bd22c24-bac2-4db5-9d86-49bd8e5b1a0b";
                   "&dm" = "iPad5,3";
                   "&ds" = app;
                   "&sr" = 2048x1536;
                   "&t" = screenview;
                   "&tid" = "XXXXXXXXX";
                   "&ul" = "en-us";
                   "&v" = 1;
                   "&z" = 123270387323034938;
                   gaiVersion = "3.15";
               };
               timestamp = "2016-04-16 00:48:06 +0000";
            }
Apr 15 20:48:06 Julios-iPad Mystery of Shadow Hill[1112] <Warning>: VERBOSE: GoogleAnalytics 3.15 __70-[GAIBatchingDispatcher checkIAdCampaignAttributionWithHitParameters:]_block_invoke (GAIBatchingDispatcher.m:749): iAd campaign tracking disabled because the iAd framework is not linked. See http://goo.gl/426NGa for instructions.

Thanks!

George




[topic_controls]
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
 
[/topic_controls]

Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: google, analytics, error, idfa