Jump to content

[TOPIC: topicViewTemplate]
[GLOBAL: userSmallPhoto]
Photo

Corona Cards Installation failed
Started by ingemar Jul 06 2014 02:40 PM

27 replies to this topic
[TOPIC CONTROLS]
Page 1 of 2 1 2
This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
[/TOPIC CONTROLS]
[modOptionsDropdown]
[/modOptionsDropdown]
[reputationFilter]
[TOPIC: post.html]
#1

ingemar

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
ingemar
  • Corona Geek

  • 2,733 posts
  • Enterprise

Can’t install Corona Cards. Doesn’t seem to support VS Express 2013 for Windows. 
I’m running 64-bit Windows 8.1 Pro. Could 64-bit be a problem?
 
I get the following in the log:
 
14/07/06 18:50:40 - Microsoft VSIX Installer
14/07/06 18:50:40 - -------------------------------------------
14/07/06 18:50:40 - Initializing Install...
14/07/06 18:50:41 - Extension Details...
14/07/06 18:50:41 -  Identifier      : CoronaLabs.Corona.Cards.WindowsPhone.a5ff5638-698f-4bcc-81b8-6737246a6046
14/07/06 18:50:41 -  Name            : CoronaCards for Windows Phone
14/07/06 18:50:41 -  Author          : Corona Labs Inc.
14/07/06 18:50:41 -  Version         : 14.0.2357.0
14/07/06 18:50:41 -  Description     : Provides Windows Phone project templates for developing apps using the Corona framework.
14/07/06 18:50:41 -  Locale          : en-US
14/07/06 18:50:41 -  MoreInfoURL     : http://www.coronalabs.com/
14/07/06 18:50:41 -  InstalledByMSI  : False
14/07/06 18:50:41 -  SupportedFrameworkVersionRange : [4.5,)
14/07/06 18:50:41 - 
14/07/06 18:50:41 -  SignedBy        : Corona Labs Inc.
14/07/06 18:50:41 -  Certificate Info : [Subject]
  CN=Corona Labs Inc., O=Corona Labs Inc., L=Palo Alto, S=California, C=US
 
[Issuer]
  CN=DigiCert Assured ID Code Signing CA-1, OU=www.digicert.com, O=DigiCert Inc, C=US
 
[Serial Number]
  0F7705C4A07A2578BFED5AEC3C35D902
 
[Not Before]
  14/06/10 09:00:00
 
[Not After]
  15/06/15 21:00:00
 
[Thumbprint]
  288E9FF2A4E7CC45F201259159D9263879E68B9F
 
14/07/06 18:50:41 -  Supported Products : 
14/07/06 18:50:41 -  Microsoft.VisualStudio.VPDExpress
14/07/06 18:50:41 -  Version : [11.0,13.0)
14/07/06 18:50:41 -  Microsoft.VisualStudio.Pro
14/07/06 18:50:41 -  Version : [11.0,13.0)
14/07/06 18:50:41 -  Microsoft.VisualStudio.Premium
14/07/06 18:50:41 -  Version : [11.0,13.0)
14/07/06 18:50:41 -  Microsoft.VisualStudio.Ultimate
14/07/06 18:50:41 -  Version : [11.0,13.0)
14/07/06 18:50:41 - 
14/07/06 18:50:41 -  References      : 
14/07/06 18:50:41 -  -------------------------------------------------------
14/07/06 18:50:41 -  Identifier   : CoronaLabs.Corona.Framework.WindowsPhone.36706714-9F1F-4691-969C-377BCFEA598A
14/07/06 18:50:41 -  Name         : Corona Framework for Windows Phone
14/07/06 18:50:41 -  Version      : [14.0.2357.0]
14/07/06 18:50:41 -  MoreInfoURL  : 
14/07/06 18:50:41 -  Nested       : Yes
14/07/06 18:50:41 - 
14/07/06 18:50:41 - 
14/07/06 18:50:41 - Searching for applicable products...
14/07/06 18:50:41 - Found installed product - Microsoft Visual Studio Express 2013 for Windows
14/07/06 18:50:41 - Found installed product - Global Location
14/07/06 18:50:41 - VSIXInstaller.NoApplicableSKUsException: This extension is not installable on any currently installed products.
   at VSIXInstaller.App.InitializeInstall()
   at System.Threading.Tasks.Task.InnerInvoke()
   at System.Threading.Tasks.Task.Execute()
 


[TOPIC: post.html]
#2

whammy

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
whammy
  • Contributor

  • 202 posts
  • Corona SDK

http://forums.coronalabs.com/topic/49185-cant-install-corona-cards-into-visual-studio/

 

No, it's because Visual Express 2013 doesn't support 3rd party extensions.



[TOPIC: post.html]
#3

ingemar

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
ingemar
  • Corona Geek

  • 2,733 posts
  • Enterprise

OK.

But in that case the installation docs are incorrect:

 

 

 

System Requirements

Minimum Desktop Operating System Supported for Development:

  • Windows 8.1 (Pro version needed for Windows Phone emulator support)

Visual Studio Versions Supported:

  • Visual Studio Express 2012 for Windows Phone 8
  • Visual Studio Express 2013 for Windows
  • Visual Studio Professional 2013 (...or better)

Windows Phone Operating Systems Supported:

  • 8.0
  • 8.1


[TOPIC: post.html]
#4

ingemar

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
ingemar
  • Corona Geek

  • 2,733 posts
  • Enterprise

OK. Got it working with VS Express 2012



[TOPIC: post.html]
#5

whammy

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
whammy
  • Contributor

  • 202 posts
  • Corona SDK

Cool, are you able to deploy for WP8.1 or 8.0 only?

[TOPIC: post.html]
#6

ingemar

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
ingemar
  • Corona Geek

  • 2,733 posts
  • Enterprise

From what I can see, 8.0 only.

 

Unfortunately it looks like you can't use Visual Studio 2012 for building apps targeting Windows Phone 8.1.

Windows Phone 8.1 SDK support was included only in Visual Studio 2013 starting from Update 2.

 

Bummer.  :(



[TOPIC: post.html]
#7

Lerg

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Lerg
  • Contributor

  • 538 posts
  • Corona Staff

I think you are reading it wrong. Windows 8.0 apps should run fine on a Windows 8.1 device because of backward compatibility. And about installing into VS 2013 - read my topic, Joshua explained why it is so.



[TOPIC: post.html]
#8

Joshua Quick

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Joshua Quick
  • Moderator

  • 3,397 posts
  • Corona Staff

Lerg is correct.  Windows Phone 8.0 apps run on 8.1 devices.

 

When you build for Windows Phone 8.0 in Visual Studio, then it'll create a *.xap file.

When you build for Windows Phone 8.1 in Visual Studio, then it'll create an *.appx file.

 

They're totally different app binaries.  The *.appx file is what Windows 8 Metro and tablets support.  Microsoft recently added *.appx support to Windows Phone this year, which is now Microsoft's equivalent to a universal binary.  In the past, you had to build your apps completely different for Windows phones and tablets.  Corona Labs is supporting *.xap files first because Windows Phone 8.0 is still the dominant version.



[TOPIC: post.html]
#9

Joshua Quick

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Joshua Quick
  • Moderator

  • 3,397 posts
  • Corona Staff

Also, I'll dig into why Visual Studio Express 2013 for Windows isn't working later.

That's a fairly new version of Visual Studio that has received very little testing on our end.  There is probably a specific setting that we're missing in our vsix file to allow it to work.

 

Our vsix file definitely works with the other 2 Visual Studio versions mentioned in our requirements list.



[TOPIC: post.html]
#10

whammy

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
whammy
  • Contributor

  • 202 posts
  • Corona SDK

I guess you are right about the backwards compatibility, BUT it was the first thing I was trying to do - to deploy a 8.0 solution from Visual Express 2012 to the WP8.1 device. There was no option to choose for 8.1 device nor 8.1 emulator. That's why I had to install Visual Studio 2013 trial.



[TOPIC: post.html]
#11

Joshua Quick

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Joshua Quick
  • Moderator

  • 3,397 posts
  • Corona Staff

I'll look into that.

 

In the meantime, you should be able to deploy your xap file via Microsoft's "Application Deployment" desktop application.



[TOPIC: post.html]
#12

Lerg

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Lerg
  • Contributor

  • 538 posts
  • Corona Staff

I had no troubles deploying the hello world app on my 8.1 device - I just connected it with USB and hit "Deploy".



[TOPIC: post.html]
#13

whammy

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
whammy
  • Contributor

  • 202 posts
  • Corona SDK

Hmm, so maybe I installed a different version. I actually installed Visual Express 2013 first and then Windows Phone SDK 8.0 for 8.0 support. And so with that SDK 8.0 I got Visual Express 2012 installed automatically as well - this version I tried and it couldn't deploy to 8.1. But maybe I should have updated it first, I don't know. I already removed it to install Visual Studio 2013 trial. Will check it out again.



[TOPIC: post.html]
#14

Lerg

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Lerg
  • Contributor

  • 538 posts
  • Corona Staff

Try uninstalling everything and then installing "Windows Phone 8.0 SDK", that will download and install VS 2012 as well.



[TOPIC: post.html]
#15

whammy

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
whammy
  • Contributor

  • 202 posts
  • Corona SDK

I'll do that but for now I'll stick to the working trial. Thanks anyway.

[TOPIC: post.html]
#16

Rob...

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Rob...
  • Contributor

  • 329 posts
  • Corona SDK

Hello. I have also had similar issues but after various stages of faffing around including uninstalling all, re installing , enabling virtual hardware on bios. I cant run the emulator as its saying I am missing Windows 8.0 Professional. I have 8.1 and its not Pro (came with the laptop) so I cannot enable Hyper V.

[TOPIC: post.html]
#17

Joshua Quick

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Joshua Quick
  • Moderator

  • 3,397 posts
  • Corona Staff

Right.  You can only run the WP8 emulator on a Windows 8.1 "Pro" operating system, not the "Home" version.  This is because the Pro version comes with Hyper-V, which is the virtual machine software the emulator runs in.



[TOPIC: post.html]
#18

Rob...

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Rob...
  • Contributor

  • 329 posts
  • Corona SDK

Yeah I should have read that bit! :) Well Im building for device instead. I have Hello World working. But no luck in any of my existing projects yet. The last one just froze and couldnt shut down phone. Now I just need to find why / what is in my projects that perhaps arent quite compatible

[TOPIC: post.html]
#19

Rob...

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Rob...
  • Contributor

  • 329 posts
  • Corona SDK

Another one frozen. And phone wont turn off now. Is there a place of known issues. IE perhaps I Cant use width = display.pixelWidth, height = display.pixelHeight, in config? Is there anywhere that will tell me why my phone has completely frozen and cannot shutdown. I cant see an error report anywhere? Im new to Visual Studio

[TOPIC: post.html]
#20

Joshua Quick

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Joshua Quick
  • Moderator

  • 3,397 posts
  • Corona Staff

Well, testing on actual devices is always best.  :)

 

If your app isn't running, then it's probably using features that are not supported on WP8 yet.  If you switch your project's debugger to "Native", then you can see some of the Lua runtime errors that may be occurring.  Although I've heard some reports that not all Lua errors are being reported, such as failure to require in a Lua library that's not supported yet.  We're still working on improving the error reporting.

 

To enable native debugging, you'll need to do the following in Visual Studio:

1) Right click on your application project in Visual Studio.

2) Select "Properties" from the popup menu.

3) Select the "Debug" tab on the left.

4) Go to the drop-down box under "Debugger Type\UI Task" and select "Native Only".

5) Run your application in debug mode.



[TOPIC: post.html]
#21

Joshua Quick

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Joshua Quick
  • Moderator

  • 3,397 posts
  • Corona Staff

If the entire operating system froze, then you're running into a bug with the operating system.  That's only happened to me twice within the past 6 months, but yeah, sometimes it happens when you run the app in debug mode.

 

I believe you can force your device to reboot by holding down the Power Button and Volume Down buttons for several seconds.



[TOPIC: post.html]
#22

Rob...

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Rob...
  • Contributor

  • 329 posts
  • Corona SDK

Yeah I tried that shut down and doesn't want to work. I have to wait about 10 minutes and then it shuts down, but of a pain, I will look at that native debug and hope I can see what's going wrong or it's going to be slow and painful lol. I will also strip everything out that might not work although there's nothing fancy. No widgets or plugins, perhaps its my build settings, I'll investigate tomorrow as it's late and a long day. Thanks

[TOPIC: post.html]
#23

Joshua Quick

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Joshua Quick
  • Moderator

  • 3,397 posts
  • Corona Staff

Regarding widgets, we don't have full support for it on WP8 yet, but you can make it work if you copy in our iOS7 skin images into your assets directory.  Have a look at my instructions here...

   http://forums.coronalabs.com/topic/49277-widgets-in-corona-cards/?p=254947

 

And I've never heard of a WP8 device hanging repeatedly before (as in the entire OS).  It makes me wonder if there is something wrong with the hardware.  Hopefully you were just unlucky.



[TOPIC: post.html]
#24

Rob...

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Rob...
  • Contributor

  • 329 posts
  • Corona SDK

Yeah hopefully :) I was wondering where build settings comes in. Would there be a windows section? How would you define icons? This kinds of things that are platform dependent.

[TOPIC: post.html]
#25

Rob...

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Rob...
  • Contributor

  • 329 posts
  • Corona SDK

Oh and it's a lumia 925 so quite new


[topic_controls]
Page 1 of 2 1 2
 
[/topic_controls]