[TOPIC: topicViewTemplate]
[GLOBAL: userSmallPhoto]
Photo

Best way to structure code / main loop
Started by garysims Jan 15 2010 02:06 AM

- - - - -
3 replies to this topic
[TOPIC CONTROLS]
This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
[/TOPIC CONTROLS]
[modOptionsDropdown]
[/modOptionsDropdown]
[reputationFilter]
[TOPIC: post.html]

garysims

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
garysims
  • Enthusiast

• 54 posts
  • Corona SDK

Hi,

I'm new to lua and corona and I am getting my head around some of the ideas/principles... I have a simple game which I am writing and the code looks something like this:

--------------------------
function dolevel(level)
-- Create display objects and layout
end

-- Accelerometer function
local function accel( event )
-- Read the Accelerometer and more the objects / sprites accordingly
-- Also does collision detection
end

local function frameupdate()
-- Do the animation
-- Call object:translate as needed to move the sprites / objects
end

local function main()
dolevel(1)
system.setAccelerometerInterval(10)
Runtime:addEventListener( "accelerometer", accel )
Runtime:addEventListener( "enterFrame", frameupdate );
end

main()
--------------------------

Now my question is this... In the accelerometer or the enterFrame listeners I can detect if the level has been completed. My question what is the best way to commnicate that with main() so that the 2 EventListeners can be removed, the next level created and the EventListeners added again.

Should I loop in main()? I am guessing that will lots of CPU...

This is more about structure than actual code... Any ideas????

Thanks,

Gary
uid: 4415 topic_id: 393 reply_id: 300393

fpassa

fpassa
  • Contributor

• 151 posts
  • Corona SDK

You can use a global table to switch between levels.

For instance if you take a look at my game, Ultimate Coins Game, also here in Customer, you will see what you are looking for.