[TOPIC: post.html]

Stephen Lewis

[GLOBAL: userInfoPane.html]
Stephen Lewis
  • Pro
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 711 posts
  • Jedi

First, congrats on getting graphics 2.0 into public beta.  I know this has been a ton of work to get to this point and it looks very, very cool.  Can't wait to play with some of the new features.

But reading over the changes and additions one bugaboo stood out to me:  You changed RGBA parameters from 0 - 255 to 0 - 1.  Why, oh why??

Reasons this change is no good:

1.  I am used to the old way.  Old habits are hard to break.  Old people like me have a hard time retraining our brains.

2.  I am an artist by trade and have been using RGB values of 0-255 since before Photoshop had layers.  In fact, I still use PS to figure out my RGB values for colors I use in Corona.  PS's color picker popup uses several different methods to numerically represent a particular color, but none of them are RGB using 0-1! I will need to break out the calculator now to figure out the RGB value conversion.  Ugh.

3.  This will break old code examples.  Yes, I saw the compatibility mode flag that will let the old way continue to work with old graphics 1.0 methods but to me this says you guys already know changing the color ranges will cause problems.

4.  Even with compatibility mode on, mixing 1.0 and 2.0 features means mixing 0-255 and 0-1 in the same code.  That will make my brain explode.

So, again, why, oh why change it at all???

I realize there must be a very, very good reason for this change.  I'd love to know what it is.  But if there isn't, or it's an easy fix to revert everything back to good 'old 0-255, I cast my vote in favor!  

Thanks for listening to my rant.

-Stephen

Rob Miracle

Rob Miracle
  • Corona Staff
  • 10,677 posts
  • Jedi